The Meat Puppets Reunite Original Lineup For New Album

The Meat Puppets will return with a new album “Dusty Notes on  March 8 through Megaforce. This will be the first Meat Puppets studio album to feature the original trio since 1995’s “No Joke!”  The trio is made up of original drummer Derrick Bostrom re-joining brothers Chris and Curt Kirkwood. The band is also planning to tour in 2019 although no official dates have been announced as yet.

“The band has been a really, really deep font of creativity,” Derrick said. “Love it or hate it, hit or miss, Curt is just prodigious. They are still living the rock lifestyle; they’re not doing it by half measures. They stayed on the road. These guys are uncompromising. I consider the Meat Puppets to be a national treasure.”

Originally formed in 1980, the band garnered widespread attention from their appearance on Nirvana’s 1993 ‘Unplugged In New York’ concert, where the they played three Meat Puppets’ songs.