Slayer Slays The Fabulous Forum

Jason Bullinger for Alternative Revolt

For one night, Los Angeles wasn’t the city of angels anymore. Instead, it was the city of devils and antichrist’s, as Slayer, Lamb of God, and Behemoth were live at The Forum last night (August 5th). The pits of hell were in full effect, as the Behemoth kicked the show off. Wasting no time, the band had started right on the dot of 7, as the infamous chills of satan’s calling had filled the arena.

With Behemoth getting the crowd warmed up for battle, Lamb of God had come out with a fury, playing a solid set of some of their classic tunes. While they didn’t play for far too long, they made sure to make their set count, playing such classics as “Walk With Me In Hell,” “Redneck,” “Laid To Rest,” “Ruin,” and “Now You’ve Got Something To Die For.”

It was a rather special moment for Lamb of God, as it’s been 10 years in the making that the band had tried to play at The Forum. For years, the band had been banned from playing there due to the fact that the building was under a different hand of ownership. Now, the tides have changed, and thanks to the mighty Slayer, Lamb of God was able to come back to Los Angeles with a vengeance after singer Randy Blythe had been away from performing for a bit.

For the main attraction, the chills really had set in for those who had never seen Slayer live before. There is a rather interesting aura that Slayer brings to table just before they make it out onto the stage. As the lights darken, the roar of the crowds builds heavily, waking up the demons within. As the band makes their way out, hiding behind a giant white screen, “Repentless” kicks things off on a 20 song setlist, as the screen drops, all hell breaks loose.

One thing is for sure, is that Slayer spared no expense on the pyro. The band made sure to bring hell with them at all cost. With so much fire on stage, the worry of a mass explosion from the devil himself was very much evident. As flames shot out in the shape of a cross, and a roaring inferno shooting up on both sides of the drum kit, you could feel yourself heating up as if you yourself were in the fiery pits of hell.

Slayer is vastly known for their intense mosh pits. Last night was no different. Within a few minutes of their set, the crowds energy and ruthlessness had built up massively. Pushing and shoving all around the GA floor, it truly felt like a Slayer show to say the least. As loose items were flying everywhere, the floor looked like a true and utter war zone, filled to the brink with metalheads that seek out ways to let out their aggressive nature.

Slayer Setlist:

  1. Repentless
  2. The Antichrist
  3. Disciple
  4. Postmortem
  5. Hate Worldwide
  6. War Ensemble
  7. When The Stillness Comes
  8. You Against Me
  9. Mandatory Suicide
  10. Hallowed Point
  11. Dead Skin Mask
  12. Born of Fire
  13. Cast the First Stone
  14. Bloodline
  15. Seasons In The Abyss
  16. Hell Awaits
  17. South of Heaven
  18. Raining Blood
  19. Chemical Warfare
  20. Angel of Death

Lamb of God Setlist:

  1. Laid To Rest
  2. Now You’ve Got Something To Die For
  3. 512
  4. Engage The Fear Machine
  5. Ruin
  6. Descending
  7. Blacken The Cursed Sun
  8. Still Echoes
  9. Walk With Me In Hell
  10. Redneck

Behemoth Set List:

  1. Ora Pro Nobis Lucifer
  2. Conquer All
  3. Messe Noir
  4. Alas, Lord Is Upon Me
  5. Decade of Therion
  6. Ov Fire and the Void
  7. Chant For Eschaton 2000

JT “Doc” Berry \m/