Papa Roach Takes A Big Bite With New Album ‘Crooked Teeth’

With their ninth studio album, “Crooked Teeth,” rap rock giants Papa Roach have come out swinging for the fences on this one. The end results proves to be a massive home run, filled to the brink with big sounding melodic songs that are sure to get your head bobbing.

While the use of rap music in these elements don’t seem to be the most attractive to those in the rock world, Papa Roach is a band that has always utilized their rap talents tastefully. The band’s live energy can be heard loud and clear in the album, playing well with singer Jacoby Shaddix’s rapping techniques.

Produced by Nicholas “RAS” Furlong and Cole Brittain, the album was written and recorded deep in the heart of Los Angeles, inside a studio in North Hollywood. Despite the conditions of their studio, that clearly didn’t have any negative effects on the quality of the final product. The new Papa Roach album has obviously overcome any and all obstacles the band may have faced in their time while recording.

“When we were in the rehearsal space I wasn’t thinking about who I needed to impress, I was thinking about how much I love making music with the guys in this band.” “It [the album] feels honest and pure and that’s all we could hope for,” adds bassist Tobin Esperance.

“The first time we met up with RAS and Colin, they said that [2000’s] ‘Infest’ was on constant rotation when they were growing up and they wanted to bring back some of that fire,” says Shaddix. Furlong added, “The whole idea was to take the classic elements of Papa Roach that everyone loved and revamp them into a modern version of the sound through the creative process, and we ended up with a bold, courageous and more adventurous version of Papa Roach.”

Upon listening to the album, there are a long line of great hits in the album. Once you hear the first song, you immediately recognize it to be a Papa Roach album. The title track of the album is just a sliver of what is to come as it follows the first track, “Break The Fall.” Other songs on the album, such as “None of the Above,” “American Dreams,” “HELP,” and more providing a dynamic mix of rap and pure rock, along with very compelling hooks and melodies that make the album very enjoyable to listen to.

Perhaps the best song on the album in one’s opinion is “Periscope,” which features the vocal talents of Skylar Grey. The song immediately grabs you with subtle instrumentals that get brought together amazingly with the vocals. Truly a masterful song that will have you playing it over and over again after the first take.

“Crooked Teeth” track listing:

01. Break The Fall
02. Crooked Teeth
03. My Medication
04. Born For Greatness
05. American Dreams
06. Periscope (feat. Skylar Grey)
07. Help
08. Sunrise Trailer Park (feat. Machine Gun Kelly)
09. Traumatic
10. None Of The Above

JT “Doc” Berry \m/