New Sons of Apollo Album Puts The “Super” In Supergroup

Sons of Apollo

Newly formed supergroup Sons of Apollo have created a big splash having announced their formation. With the likes of singer Jeff Scott Soto, guitarist Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal, bassist Billy Sheehan, keyboardist Derek Sherinian, and drummer Mike Portnoy, the forces are mighty strong with this one as they gear up to officially release their debut album.

Entitled “Psychotic Symphony,” the album features 9 heavy set songs that are enriched with a heavy body of heavy tones, with exotic lines to match. The album itself kicks off in a very big way. Starting off with very exotic mix of sitar with heavy guitar tones, “God of the Sun” is by far a triumphant way to start the album off. Mixed with Soto’s amazing melodic vocal lines, the course of the album’s path puts Sons of Apollo in a good state of mind.

Listeners will continue to be amazed by the bands prowess, as Mike Portnoy lays down his progressive drum mix into the groove, followed by Sherinian’s wizardry of keyboard playing that is masterfly showcased all throughout the album. Of course, who could forget about the great Bumblefoot, who brings his underrated guitar talents to full effect with heavy, yet smooth setups.

Songs like “Songs of the Time,” “Labyrinth,” “Alive,” “Lost in Oblivion,” “Divine Addiction,” and more are all testaments to just how powerful each entity is in their own right. The beauty of each instrument portrayed by the masterful craftsmen that are the master of their own puppets provide the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow that will get listeners hooked from the very beginning.

Sons of Apollo “Psychotic Symphony” Track Listing:

  1. God of the Sun
  2. Coming Home
  3. Signs of the Time
  4. Labyrinth
  5. Alive
  6. Lost in Oblivion
  7. Figaro’s Whore
  8. Divine Addiction
  9. Opus Maximus

JT “Doc” Berry \m/