Clutch Announces New Album “Book Of Bad Decisions”

Maryland rockers Clutch has announced the title of their new album will be Book Of Bad Decisions and will be released worldwide on September 7 on their own Weathermaker Music label.

The album was recorded in Nashville at Sputnik Sound by Vance Powell.

“Gimme The Keys” was written about Clutch’s first tour back in 1991, a time where the bandmembers began to cut their teeth in the live music business, dealt with show cancellations and incidents on the road. One particular show in a shed surrounded by cornfields in Lawrence, Kansas ultimately turned ugly over a missing microphone and accusations brought by drunk and gun-toting security people at the end of a long day. “Gimme the keys they can keep the guarantee / Gimme the keys and get the hell out of dodge” is a reflection of the mood of that night.

“With Vance Powell as producer, we were able to make a very different kind of an album” says drummer Jean-Paul Gaster. “The songs feel as if they could jump out of the speakers!” Bassist Dan Maines seconds that when he says: “Recording in Nashville with Vance Powell gave us a new and fresh approach towards making an album that truly captures the live energy of Clutch in a way I don’t think we’ve done before.” Guitarist Tim Sult adds: “Laying down guitar tracks with Vance was fun and inspiring. Going through and trying out his and his engineer Mike Fahey’s collection of vintage amps was one of my favorite recording studio experiences. I think the outro solo of ‘Emily Dickinson’ turned out particularly great.”

“Book Of Bad Decisions” track listing:

01. Gimme the Keys
02. Spirit of ’76
03. Book of Bad Decisions
04. How to Shake Hands
05. In Walks Barbarella
06. Vision Quest
07. Weird Times
08. Emily Dickinson
09. Sonic Counselor
10. A Good Fire
11. Ghoul Wrangler
12. HB Is in Control
13. Hot Bottom Feeder
14. Paper & Strife
15. Lorelei