AFI Releases New EP ‘The Missing Man’

Jason Bullinger for Alternative Revolt

Today sees the release of AFI’s The Missing Man (Ex Noctem Nacimur) a new 5-song EP that the band (vocalist Davey Havok, guitarist Jade Puget, drummer Adam Carson and bassist Hunter Burgan) announced just a few weeks ago.

“The five songs have unique sounds and each has its own identity,” Havok told LA Weekly. “’The Missing Man’ is a cinematic song, as opposed to the driving force behind a ‘Get Dark’ or a ‘Trash Bat.’ The EP moves in different directions from there.”

The EP was produced and mixed by Puget and sneak-previewed with the release of “Get Dark” and “Trash Bat,” which drew praise from the likes of Brooklyn VeganConsequence of Sound and Stereogum, among others.

Tomorrow night, AFI will play KROQ’s sold-out Almost Acoustic Christmas, followed by a sold-out show on Sunday the 9th at the Ace of Spades in Sacramento, CA, and then another sold-out show on the 10that The Observatory North Park in San Diego, CA.